Experienced and RespectedGuidance and direction from people who know buildings and property.

Jonathan Forster

(Executive Chairman)

Jonathan has been a director of Balmoral since 1988. He was born and educated in England. In 1970 he moved to Melbourne to establish an office for Chesterton & Sons, a London based firm of Chartered Surveyors. In 1973 he founded Kane Constructions, was Managing Director until 2001 and remains as Chairman. He is Past State and National President (1992 – 1995) of the Retirement Village Association, Life Member of the Retirement Living Council and a pioneer of the industry. He was a Director and then Chair of of Holmesglen College of TAFE between 2007 and 2013. He is a Past President (1998 – 2000) and now Honorary Life Member of the Master Builders Association of Victoria. He was a Director of Incolink, the building industry redundancy fund in Victoria (1996 – 2006) and Over Fifty Group Ltd and The Over 50’s Mutual Friendly Society (1999 -2007).

Robin Forster

(Managing Director)

Robin has been Managing Director of Balmoral since 2016. He worked as a banking and finance solicitor in Melbourne, Sydney and London for international firms Ashurst (formerly Blake Dawson) and Sidley Austin (2001 – 2008). He was seconded to Qantas Airways before moving in-house with global banks UBS and, most recently, ANZ, specializing in commodities, foreign exchange and derivatives (2009 – 2014). He is currently a director of Forsite Capital, a private investment company, and the Forster Family Foundation, a private charitable fund established in 2014. He completed an MBA at Melbourne Business School (Dean’s List) in 2016.

Richard Alston

(Non-Executive Director)

Richard has been a director of Balmoral since 2008. He is currently a company director and corporate advisor, as well as an Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Information Technology at Bond University, Queensland. He was Australian High Commissioner to the United Kingdom (2005 – 2008), a Senator for Victoria (1986 – 2004) and a senior Cabinet Minister, being Deputy leader of the Government in the Senate as well as Minister for Communications, Information Technology and the Arts (1996 – 2003). Prior to entering Parliament, he practiced as a barrister in Melbourne and was active in a number of leading non-government organisations, especially in the field of overseas aid. He holds five university degrees.

Tony Isaacson

(Non-Executive Director)

Tony has been a Director of Balmoral since 1988. He worked for Kane Constructions since 1979, as Managing Director from 2001 – 2016 and remains as a Non-Executive Director. His expertise is in construction with a special interest in restoration and construction management. He has managed projects in Australia and overseas including Papua New Guinea, East Timor, Pakistan, China and the Pacific. Tony takes a keen interest in the management of Balmoral, the maintenance of the village assets and the welfare of the residents.

Murray Chessell

(Non-Executive Director)

Murray has been a Director of Balmoral since 1994. Murray practiced as a solicitor for more than 30 years and was senior partner of Chessell Williams prior to his retirement in 2008. He was a Director and then Chairman of Over Fifty Group Ltd. and The Over 50s Mutual Friendly Society (1997 – 2007). In his youth, Murray represented Australia as a gymnast at the Mexico Olympics and was President of the Australian Gymnastics Federation, a Director of the Australian Commonwealth Games Association Inc. and a Director of the Australian Commonwealth Games Foundation Ltd.  Murray was awarded the Order of Australia in 2002 for services to gymnastics.

Login Form